It Begins……

2 Jun

Today I bought my shopping to start the process of getting over the food compulsion. I feel very nervous because I know what Im facing. I know I am going to get bored and fast. I know that this is the point. I shouldn’t be gaining intense pleasure from food to the point that it overtakes my thoughts. There is no bullshit now. No magic pill to suddenly make me thin. Yes eating paleo is going to help. But its a tool and I have other problems. All I do is think about how Im going to get food, how do I get more, and where is my next meal coming from. Im not even sure Im right about this addiction thing, but I have a hunch I am. My behaviour around food is obsessive – I act like an addict. But for me this is such a far out approach, and what if I am wrong. What if I am physiologically hungry but I am trying to convince myself I am actually just going through withdrawal. There is scope here to really mess myself up and that is what worries me!

So to the details. While shopping I bought foods that wouldn’t trigger me (basically anything tasty). I also knew it was very important to buy foods that would give me lots of nutrients so that what I feel in terms of hunger is not actually my body needing a missing nutrient. For the same reasons I have kept calories fairly high at about 2500-3000 calories. I need to make absolutely certain that if I am hungry its not real hunger. This is my typical day for the next week.

Breakfast Yogurt and Berries

Lunch  Pork, Spinach, Tomatoes, Onion, Olive Oil, Almonds

Dinner Piece of meat, Green Vegetable, Potato

Im also going to have a hit of cod liver oil each day.

All the nutrients are well over the RDA and my calories are around 2700. The diet is not paleo exactly but it is doing what I need it too.

Macronutrient breakdown is –

Fat – 60% (mono – 32%, poly – 8%, sat – 15%)

Carbs – 15% (106g)

Protein – 24%

5 Responses to “It Begins……”

  1. Judith June 3, 2010 at 12:03 am #

    Food looks good, though I would have kumara instead of potato (not just because it is lower in carbs, but because I prefer the taste) but I guess you can’t get kumara in Canada! Do you drink coffee? I find a good belt of caffeine with a slug of cream gives my metabolism a kick start in the mornings. Good luck. keep us posted.

  2. Cynthia June 3, 2010 at 6:43 am #

    I was reading Ned’s post http://healthcorrelator.blogspot.com/2010/06/cortisol-response-to-stress-is-much.html and I think it rings a bell regarding your situation. You’ve just moved to a new country where you feel somewhat alone and stressed out. Maybe your hormones are out of whack and that’s the source of the problem! Maybe part of what you’re feeling is heightened appetite because of what cortisol is doing to you? You didn’t gain back the weight because you ate too much, you ate too much so you could gain back the weight (because your body told you to)! Sort of the Taubes-esque view on things.

    Anyway, just another thought.

  3. phillipe June 3, 2010 at 9:59 am #

    Not only about eating the right stuff, mate, but you might want to think about some exercise as well 🙂

  4. TPSW June 3, 2010 at 11:18 am #

    I also left a message at your old blog and I just finished reading your posts and the comments here. I concur that the emotional side of addiction is the part that really needs to be taken care of. It is the inner reaches of the mind that are the problem and digging around to identify the root cause of the triggers is probably the ticket to moving forward. I say this not as a lecture to you but as a prompt for myself as well. I have comfort and aversion issues that I know that I need to figure out and I avoid it as well (I cannot even touch a container of mustard or mayonnaise). So let the journey begin for you and those of us that will try to parlay your journey into a boot in the rear to get our journey going as well.

  5. Dan June 3, 2010 at 11:51 pm #

    Judith – I will do. I prefer potato but I am not trying to eat foods for enjoyment. If you know what I mean. Also the one thing I have never got into is drinking coffee or tea. I don’t know why.

    Cynthia – thats an interesting point I will have to read that post (now).

    Phillipe – agreed. Ive started walking for about 30 mins each day, which I will increase to an hour shortly.

    TPSW – Hopefully I have some good discoveries and can share them.

Leave a Reply

