Archive | 10:53 pm

Missing Sugar

5 Jun

I weighed myself today. I don’t know why. I guess I wanted to know I wasn’t gaining weight. I have lost 2 KG since I started this a few days ago. Probably mostly water. But I think that I may be losing weight too fast. This time round Im really cautious of not physiologically shocking my body. In some ways I think I shouldn’t even be trying to lose weight, rather I should be maintaining weight and working through my food issues. But I know that the motivation for me is to be healthy and to lose weight. When I do that it will help motivate me. So since I have decided to diet I want to do this slowly. I don’t want to force my body into thinking its starving. At least I want to minimise physiological cravings as much as possible so I can deal with the addiction. I find it really hard to say that – addiction. I rewrote that sentence a few times even though I wanted to say addiction. I almost feel embarrassed to say it. I guess I don’t want people to think Im crazy for thinking this.

At exactly 2:40 pm today the hunger started to kick in, and after that it progressively got stronger. It was similar to when I gave up smoking. I could feel my heart beating in my veins and I felt very tense. I also began obsessing about food. Particularly lemonade. I guess my body just wants the quickest hit it can get from sugar, and what could be better than sugar in liquid form. I also knew it was going to get worse as the day went on. In order to counteract this I decided that I would lift my calorie limit to 3000. The reason behind this is the hope that it will prevent the currently rapid rate of weight loss, which may be partly causing this massive hunger. It seemed to work. My need for food disappeared, and I was left with a strong want for food. I WANTED to go and get some lemonade, but I didn’t need it. It made the obsessive food thoughts more manageable.

So I am left with this feeling of simply missing carb-laden food. I just want to have carbs for no other reason than I just want to have carbs. I miss the way it makes me feel, I miss the taste and I miss the excitement of having it. I feel like something is missing now. Weirdly, I feel I have lost a piece of me or something that I could always rely on to make me happy. I guess this truly is the addict talking. Its similar to when I gave up smoking and I just missed smoking. I wanted that hit again. Also, I am having similar thoughts as to yesterday. That little addict inside my head is trying to convince me I am going to fail. That when I lose more weight I will actually be too hungry, and there will be nothing I can do about it. That its not about addiction at all. That I am wrong, and I will fail, and will be fat for life. That little addict is trying to break me so it gets its fix. I hope it is not right because honestly Im not sure.

Ok so here is my eating for today. As I said I brought my limit up and had 3000 calories. Im hoping that this will maintain my weight for the next few days and then I will drop it again until I lose another half a kilo, and then bring the calories back up again. I am hoping that by cycling my calories like this that my hunger levels will be kept at bay. Since I increased my calories, and my carbs always seem to be sitting in between 100 and 150 g of carbs anyway, I decided to keep it that way. This carb intake may be too high, and so if the cravings become intense at 3000 calories I will begin to progressively reduce the carbs down in an effort to diminish hunger levels. Today my nutrients were looking really good with most been well over 200% of the RDA with no shortfalls.

Meals

Breakfast: Berries, Yogurt

Lunch: Pork Steak, Canned Tomatoes, Spanish Onion, Celery

Late Afternoon Snack: Pork Steak, Spinach, Olive Oil

Dinner: Salmon, Asparagus, Almonds

Macronutrients

Fat 56% (Sat 12%, Poly 9%, Mono 32%)

Carbohydrates 18% (149g)

Protein 26%

By the way never be afraid to make comment. I freaking love people commenting!

Paul McGlothin – How To Be Happy On A Low Calorie Diet

5 Jun

This post presents a talk by Paul McGlothin best selling author of ‘The CR Way’. Im sure many people know about the positive benefits of calorie restriction on increased life span from yeast to humans. Although at a first glance this doesn’t seem to be so appropriate in breaking food addiction it offers some powerful insights, and so I posted it. In the video he talks about how to undertake a calorie restricted diet, and avoid many of those negative feelings that drive people back to the crapboard. This is especially relevant to me because I am essentially on a calorie restricted diet, and therefore a lot of his advice was useful. In the answers and questions time, at the end of the video, he explains that anyone on a low calorie diet is doing CR to some degree. The video is about 30 mins long, but if you want the best part watch from minute 9:00 to 15:00. The below picture is from the New York Times showing two monkeys – one eating CR and one on a normal diet.

If you can’t be bothered watching the video at all I have summarised the main points.

1. Increase serotonin: High levels of serotonin leads to reduced anxiety, obsession, depression and increases satiety as well as feelings of happiness. You can help to increase serotonin levels by eating foods that help to aid in its production (post coming soon). He says that we should consume olive oil and vegetable broth each day. I know that Mediterranean diets have been shown to increase the serotonin levels of people who eat them resulting in less depression. Of course carbohydrates also increase serotonin levels, like candy, but only for a few hours and then you get the come down (dum dum dummmmmm).

2. Increase EPA intake: This Omega 3 Fatty Acid  has also been shown by researchers to increase happiness (again post coming soon). This is easily done by popping fish oil.

3. Lower glucose for higher brain derived neurotrophic factor (BDNF): BDNF acts on certain neurons of the central nervous system and the peripheral nervous system, helping to support the survival of existing neurons, and encourage the growth and differentiation of new neurons and synapses. Rats that have persistently low BDNF were found to eventually have atrophy of the hippocampus. Obviously, a low carbohydrate diet is the most efficient way to reduce glucose in the bloodstream.

4. Savour the flavour: Basically eat slowly so you get satisfied with the food you do eat, and this will help to reduce the cravings you have. Aside from feeling mentally satisfied you will also know when you are physiologically full prior to eating five cheesecakes, a pie and four bags of crisps.

5. Increase endorphins through exercise or sex: Don’t think I need to go into this too much do I? Endorphins make you feel happy and the above exercises will increase them. Lets leave it at that.

6. Meditate to reduce stress: Epinephrine (Adrenalin) increases in people who restrict calories. This helps to reduce glucose but generally is not a good thing. Meditation can help to reduce this hormone.

What I can’t stand is the anti-meat sentiment of CR proponents. Sometimes it seems like a vegan movement. I think this is where the paleo diet and CR differ significantly. You can be on a calorie restricted diet on paleo, be getting the most amount of nutrients you can possibly get, and still be eating meat! In fact it is BECAUSE you eat meat that you get the whole suite of nutrients that you need. Also, as intermittent fasting proponents know scientific evidence is starting to show that animals that do this gain the same positive anti-ageing bonuses as animals on CR – even though they are eating a normal calorie diet. It seems the success of these approaches is tied somehow to the fed/hunger state rather than calorie intake.

Here is the video, enjoy!