When You Start Thinking Addict

10 Jun

I cycled down to 2500 calories today, and so was feeling hungry all day. But especially in the evening. The sad thing is I know its not real hunger. That is what has changed since I have started seeing my hunger as an addiction to food. Before this I pretty much believed in the ‘set point’ theory. That you are meant to weigh what you weigh, and any efforts to deviate from that will put you in a war against your body.  So I thought that when I went on a diet I was only going to get more and more hungry as time passed. This made it hard to motivate myself not to eat because I felt that this hunger, this never ending desire to eat something, was never going to leave and only get stronger. Deep down I still believe this to a certain extent. I think it has been brainwashed into my head.

But my perspective is changing. When you see these cravings as some desperate attempt from that little addict inside your head to get a ‘hit’, then it becomes hard to give in to those cravings. This is because the longer you abstain from junk food the less cravings you will get as time passes. So if you eat some junk food its like an ex smoker having a cigarette. Your undoing all that hard work. However, there is light at the end of the tunnel. This hunger that I feel is TEMPORARY. I just need to tough it out for this moment in time!

But its hard. These thoughts occurred to me tonight as I sat there constantly thinking about eating sugary foods. I desperately want to tell you, and me, to go get stuffed then head down the road and stuff my face with ice cream. I really do want to do that. But I know that if I do then I have given in to this addict. That my life will never get better. That I am just trapping myself into the same patterns. As much I know this it still really sucks. Because I really really WANT to tell you to get stuffed.

Meals

Lunch: 6 x Eggs, Spinach, Tomato

Dinner: 2 x Round Eye Steaks, Cabbage

Late Snack: Cabbage, Canned Tomatoes

Macronutrients

Fat 54% (sat 13%, poly 8%, mono 33%)

Carbohydrates 13% (91g)

Protein 33%

So I stuck to around 2500 calories. I was under this limit (and under 50g of carbs) but I was really really hungry this evening. I was going crazy. Funnily enough I seemed to satisfy the cravings in my head with the thought of some cabbage with tomatoes. No olive oil, no meat, nothing else. So I had that and it pushed me to 2600 calories and 91g carbs. But thats alright as my calories are below maintenance and my carbs are still below 100g. Once again my nutrients were through the roof.

Protein

10 Responses to “When You Start Thinking Addict”

  1. Girl Gone Primal June 11, 2010 at 1:08 am #

    I like the set point theory, especially since I had so little control over my weight gain, yet I don’t seem to be able to gain any more weight at this point… My body has learned that it wants to currently be this new weight, lower than my old weight…

    However, I’m now looking into Jon Gabriel’s solutions for this issue (the idea of the body wanting to be fat as protection, as deflection of stressors etc) since I understand the science of fight/flight chemical responses etc. Although I don’t know how much faith I have in visualisations and things, I’m keen to try anything! If I can go back to not being obsessed with food, that would be wonderful!

    (I’m thinking of buying his book, but for now I downloaded his ‘CD’ from his site, after figuring out the mystery word… Let me know if you’d like to partake!)

    • Dan June 11, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

      Yes that is what Im trying to do. Stop the obsession.

      • Girl Gone Primal June 11, 2010 at 9:27 pm #

        ….So, yes you want to get the meditation mp3?

    • Dan June 11, 2010 at 10:02 pm #

      No sorry I was agreeing with the need to stop obsessing about food. At this point in time I need to just do what I am doing right now. I fear that if I tried or read something else it might send me into a bit of a head spin. But I do appreciate the offer.

  2. Primalocity June 11, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    sometimes i’m just not hungry, but other times I feel like I can never satiate my hunger. I think its cyclical and lifestyle related. Since I’ve started following the primal blueprint,http://primalocity.com, I find myself hungy more often – but I go with it choosing something primal compliant – some nuts, turkey jerky, a piece of fruit, etc. With regard to the set point theory, have you tried intermittent fasting (IF) (I know this is not a suggestion that would be well taken by someone is feeling hungry) Yu can read about it at marksdailyapple.com and the benefits. I fast when I’m not hungry, which may mean just skipping breakfast sometimes, or skipping meals all day until dinner.

    • Dan June 11, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

      Yes I pretty much eat paleo and have tried intermittent fasting. These both work but the bigger issue for me is abstaining from foods that drive me food crazy.

  3. TPSW June 11, 2010 at 2:33 pm #

    You know that I said I hoped that I would learn from your journey and I am. I am thinking about addiction as it is in alcoholics because my older brother is an alcoholic. I rant about him on my blog at times. I already go on and off wine drinking for at weeks at a time to prove to myself that I am not a wino because of his problem. I do refuse to call it a disease. I am now trying to apply this comparison to help me with food issues. I think the biggest challenge for me is to take the time to think before I put the food in my mouth. The time-out as it were. I hope to explore this more fully in the coming weeks.
    Thanks DR.D!

    • Dan June 11, 2010 at 9:23 pm #

      Its a different perspective. There is still a part of me that isn’t sure. That part of me that wants to cling to old ideas. So Im learning as I go and just exploring the idea. I started this thinking I would give up if and when I started to see that the idea of food addiction is flawed. So far I have only strengthened my belief.

  4. Carla June 11, 2010 at 10:28 pm #

    I read a really good line in a book I’m reading right now by Deirdre Barrett called Supernormal Stimuli. It’s an awesome book! Because it talks about how we get addicted to these things. She says it’s easier to abstain completely from these foods and that the cravings will pass, whereas if we were to give in just a little bit, then we are always feeding the addiction and we are not changing our brain patterns. Well, she explains it much better, you should read the book! 🙂

    • Dan June 11, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

      Thats exactly my thinking. And I hope beyond hope that it DOES get easier. I have been let down so much whenever I think I have ‘found’ the new approach. So I am reserving judgement. But if it is an addiction the cravings should always be there but become more manageable. I would think.

Leave a Reply

