Getting My Nutrients

14 Jun

So it was hard to mentally get back into the swing of things. But nothing helps more with that than by eating well. So today I ate all the right foods. I am feeling more motivated now. I am also glad to learn that my weight wasn’t effected at all.

I have been on this diet for almost two weeks now. Some days I find my nutrient levels are below the RDA but generally they are over. I thought I would check how my nutrient levels are looking averaged out over the last week to see if I am deficient in anything. Here are the results. The number is the percentage of the recommended daily allowance (RDA). So 500% would mean I am five times over.

Vitamin A: 541

Vitamin B6: 350

Vitamin B12: 471

Vitamin C: 188

Vitamin D: 702

Vitamin E: 242

Calcium: 97

Copper: 353

Iron: 354

Magnesium: 154

Manganese: 218

Niacin: 320

Pant. Acid: 179

Phosphorus: 355

Potassium: 127

Riboflav: 264

Selenium: 434

Sodium: 234

Thiamin: 244

Zinc: 264

So as you can see Im pretty much kicking ass in terms of getting enough nutrients. The only one that was slightly below 100% was calcium. But as Dr Loren Cordain says it is not that we need a lot of calcium it is more to do with the potassium/sodium ratio. Too much sodium and the calcium gets leached from your bones. Im sure thats the theory. However, just in case, I will start drinking milk (yes its not paleo I know).

Anyway this just goes to show that a balanced paleo diet really does give you a whole heap of nutrients. This is great for addiction also. Im sure that what my brain needs right now is plenty of nutrients to help get it past the withdrawal process. To feed it something good. But I guess I probably don’t need to focus on my nutrient intake so much now.

Meals:

Lunch: Almonds

Afternoon Snack: Mixed Berries

Dinner: Beef, Liver and Cabbage Soup + Cod Liver Oil

Calories: 2600

Nutrients:

Fat 58% (sat 15%, poly 8%, mono 35%)

Carbohydrates 11% (75g)

Protein 31%

Calories 2600

12 Responses to “Getting My Nutrients”

  1. Cheryl June 14, 2010 at 9:52 pm #

    You’ll assimilate calcium better through food like collard greens and canned salmon (including bones), rather than through milk.

    Milk-drinking cultures do NOT have better bone density than those who do not drink cow’s milk.

    Electrolyte balanced foods include those higher in potassium, like parsnips, orange juice, turkey, etc.

    Cheryl

    • Dan June 15, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

      Hi Cheryl, I do eat a lot of green vegetables. Milk is a top up.

  2. Carla June 14, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

    Hi Dan,

    Your nutrients are certainly looking good, and that may be what you need to help you through the addiction process! I know it definitely helps for me when I’m eating in a really balanced way. I also drink milk! I really like dairy products, and with all the other stuff that I’ve given up, I’m just not going to get rid of this too at this point in time. Dairy products make me feel really good, and they help with fullness and satisfaction too.

    • Hannah June 15, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

      Hi Dan,

      interesting blog. I just wonder, when you describe your meals: how can you get 2600 calories out of almonds, berries, beef, Liver and Cabbage Soup + Cod Liver Oil? They all are so low in calories, relatively and to me it seems such a minimal food intake. May I ask what your portions are?

      Hannah, France

      • Dan June 15, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

        Don’t know. I think that Fitday can have quite large variation in the calories they allocate to different pieces of meat. I generally go for a conservative option (ie high in calories) if Im unsure.

        I had about a cup of almonds.

        I had about 2.5 med sized steaks, 50g liver, and quarter of a cabbage (I did not use any oil or other fat with the soup).

        I had clove liver oil

        I had a cup of mixed berries.

        1 glass of milk (sorry forgot to add this).

    • Dan June 15, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

      Carla – Yeah milk and yogurt is one food that I can eat in moderation and not feel I have to eat heaps of it. Plus I really like to start my day with dairy. So I have no intention of dropping it even though its not paleo. Besides my emphasis is on not eating trigger foods and paleo just seems to be the best diet for that. IF I find foods that don’t make me go crazy then I will eat them.

  3. Primal Toad June 15, 2010 at 9:18 am #

    When I went primal I kept track of all my nutrients on fitday as well. I did this for 3 days. I did wondeful on all nutrients except for calcium! That was the one where I was under 100%. Magnesium was the second lowest but I believe I was over 100%.

    I think calcium might be low for a lot of people who go on this “diet” that does not eat dairy. I eat raw cheese once in a while but just cant handle a lot of dairy. But, like you said, its not necessarily how much calcium but ratios instead. Just like the omega 3 to omega 6… its all about ratio! Since I limit sodium intake and eat a decent amount of potassium I should be good. 🙂

    Keep up the great eating! Lol

    • Dan June 16, 2010 at 7:55 pm #

      I agree. I never have any salt with anything so am assuming my ratios are fine. But just in case I have started adding a little bit of dairy.

  4. Aaron Griffin June 15, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

    Be careful with large amounts of Vitamin A, as it can cause fatigue. Though that usually only happens when taking it in supplement form.

    • Dan June 16, 2010 at 7:55 pm #

      Cheers. No Im not taking it in supplements its all from fish oil.

  5. Andrea June 16, 2010 at 1:10 am #

    You can count me in the numbers of people who have tried paleo and found it not to be the panacea as promised. Not that it doesn’t work miraculously for some folk, just not for decades-long overweight, insulin resistant folk like me. It’s still my philosophical and practical manner of eating by choice, but I don’t look to it for weight loss any more.
    My focused weight loss journey began with ‘Shangri-La’, which saw me downing 2 tablespoons of olive oil every morning. Although I’ve since read about the problem with olive oil (Omega 6 overload, thanks Nora!), I lost 15 lbs as if by magic and most importantly I lost the craving, the focus, the constant thinking about food. Fat gave me my freedom from food-obsessed thinking! It’s actually stayed with me too.
    But 15 lbs was all it was good for and I eventually stopped taking the oil.
    Then I read Kathleen DesMaisons, who does realize the addictive nature of sugar (which all carbohydrates and excess protein are). One of her books is called Potatoes Not Prozac, and I recommend you give it a read.
    Then, for me, on to paleo and the variety of books out there on it. My favourite source is Nora Gedgaudas and I recommend her book Primal Body-Primal Mind, although who can possibly balance all those micro and macronutrients!?
    Most importantly I’ve learned on my now 5 year journey is:
    1.That there is no one, easy answer (despite what Mark and others say);
    2. That insulin resistance is an evil thing, but it is physiological and not psychological; and
    3. The true measure of success is found in time: use a grain of salt with people who provide diet advice after a few months or even a few years of success. Also, can you take the diet advice of someone who’s never been in your shoes? Who hasn’t battled food obsession and weight loss and gain over decades?

    Dan, the best things you have going for yourself are your inquiring mind and your perseverance. You’ll find your equilibrium.
    You’ve got a lot of supporters. Keep up the good work!

    • Dan June 16, 2010 at 7:57 pm #

      Thats an interesting concept I have been thinking about lately. Can you eat paleo, be overweight and be healthy. I personally believe you can. I don’t think peoples health has so much to do with what they weigh per se but rather what they eat.

Leave a Reply

