Are You A Food Addict?

19 Jun

Here is a short video on food addiction from the CNN.

What I find most interesting is the comments from the guy at the end who is obviously brought on to dispute the idea of food addiction. Fair enough. But, I  thought his comments were rather redundant. Firstly, he indicates that  food addiction is found in some people by stating that often when people undergo bariatric surgery they will simply switch from eating food to drinking lots of alcohol. This suggests to me that they are simply swapping one form of addiction for another. Secondly, he says that not all people who are obese are addicted to food. Well, um, no shit sherlock. Who is saying that addiction is the root of ALL obesity? Also, who is saying that all thin people are not addicted to food? Someone who responds well to insulin may not get obese, but still be addicted to food. Like I said…..redundant comments.

Which leads me to my next comment. Here are two polls. I would like you to decide whether you think you have food addiction problems. Obviously this might be a bit biased since your reading this blog, but lets do it anyway. It will be nice to know the type of people who are reading this blog. There are two polls – one for people with weight issues, and those for people without. Don’t do both please!

11 Responses to “Are You A Food Addict?”

  1. Primal Toad June 19, 2010 at 10:57 am #

    Great post. I can’t wait to see the final results of the polls.

    • Dan June 21, 2010 at 6:22 pm #

      Yes the results were interesting. It would seem as many people are addicted to food whether they are fat or thin?

      • Dan June 23, 2010 at 11:27 pm #

        Results are in and its very surprising too me. FAt or thin most people think they are addicted to food. Ill just submit that to Nature now.

  2. Lindsay June 19, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

    I have been reading you for a while, when you were still over at “Darwin” — and reading about your struggles, I just have to say: have you checked out that 180 Degree Health blog by Matt Stone?

    I definitely agree that food addiction is as powerful if not more so than any other “drug” and that it definitely has to do with mind and soul vs. anything you put into your mouth. Just wanted to vocalize my support of your journey. Much love.

    • Dan June 23, 2010 at 11:27 pm #

      Thanks for reading. I checked out his site. It was interesting!!

  3. Bearfriend June 19, 2010 at 12:52 pm #

    Hi Dan. I used not to believe in food addiction. Like that sketch by Ricky Gervais – “You just like eating a lot, don’t you” (I don’t watch him but that sketch was trailed endlessly on TV).

    But I do now. Because I’ve felt that “hit” in my brain when I eat foods high in fat and sugar. It’s actually pretty scary to have experienced that so clearly. I only have the “hit” so clearly when going back to eating rubbish after a period of healthy eating.

    I really do feel completely addicted. But I don’t feel strong enough at the moment to take on the battle. Battling against any addiction takes a huge amount of psychological strength.

    Bearfriend xx

    • Dan June 23, 2010 at 11:28 pm #

      I totally no what you mean. When you get it and you realise that your ‘high’ it is very weird.

  4. Judith June 19, 2010 at 11:35 pm #

    I don’t think I’m addicted. I think I’m just greedy. But maybe I’m in denial!

    • Dan June 23, 2010 at 11:28 pm #

      or maybe you are just greedy:)

  5. Mike June 22, 2010 at 2:37 pm #

    My biggest addiction is to alcohol. I tend to get into social situations where alcohol flows freely and the next thing I know I am eating chips, bread, pizza… guess I need either stronger will to resist or just get new friends?

    • Dan June 23, 2010 at 11:29 pm #

      Right there with you brother. And once you are lubricated its sooo easy to ignore and just eat and drink more.

Leave a Reply

